Go back

2022 Arenberg-Coimbra Group Prize for Erasmus Students Laureate Announcement

28 March 2022

It is with great pleasure that we can announce the result of the work of the selection committee established by the Executive Board to assess the nominations from member universities for the Arenberg-Coimbra Group Prize for Erasmus Students.

The 2022 Laureate is Ms Marie Bakken from the University of Bergen (Norway). While a final year Master student in Law, she spent a six-month Erasmus study period at the University of Salamanca (Spain). The new courses she attended there, and the vivid intellectual interactions entailed by such academic exchange, directly inspired her for the subject of her Master thesis which European dimension has been very much welcomed by the Prize selection committee.

“I am so grateful for this recognition, and this gives me even more motivation to keep working for the legal protection of human rights across Europe”, Marie said when learning about her award. Of all the nominees, she made the most comprehensive and convincing case for the added value of the Erasmus experience. In her particular situation, this included for example actively engaging with the European Law Students’ Association.

This year there have been nineteen nominations from fourteen Coimbra Group Universities in a wide array of disciplines. The other nominees were commended for providing other excellent examples of the impact an Erasmus mobility experience can have on one’s academic journey.

We heartily congratulate Marie Bakken on winning the 2022 Arenberg-Coimbra Group Prize and thank all candidates, and their host universities, for their great participation.

Read more here