Go back

Congratulations to the finalists of the 2023 Coimbra Group 3MT competition!

28 April 2023

This year again, the Coimbra Group 3MT Competition was enthusiastically received, with no less than 26 universities nominating a candidate.

Following the voting process, we are delighted to announce the 3 finalists (in alphabetical order, not ranking order): Ida Cecilie Jensen (Aarhus University), Juhi Parmar (Jena University) and Michaela Raab (Edinburgh University). Congratulations to each of them, and many thanks to all participants!
The winner of the competition will be determined after the finalists’ live presentations to take place at the University of Cologne on 1 June 2023 during the Coimbra Group Annual Conference . You may also watch the live final through the livestream on CG Youtube channel.

Launched in 2017 by the Doctoral Studies Working Group (DS WG), the Three-Minute Thesis (3MT) competition proceeds in several stages and involves all Coimbra Group universities. The first stage took place at the beginning of April, when all member universities were invited to submit a video of the finalist chosen at their own internal competition. Then, videos were sent to a panel composed of members of the Doctoral Studies WG and CG representatives on from all universities, who were asked to vote on behalf of their institution for their preferred top three candidates, with a system of 3,2, and 1 point(s) attribution.

Developed by The University of Queensland (UQ), the 3MT competition consists of effectively explain one’s research in three minutes, in a language appropriate to a non-specialist audience. Competitors are allowed one PowerPoint slide, but no other resources.